Techiman South: Court dismisses NDC’s injunction against Mensah Korsah

The Wenchi High Court presided over by His Lordship, Justice Fredrick Arnold A. K. Nawurah has dismissed the motion for an interim injunction seeking to restrain Martin Agyei Mensah Korsah from presenting himself to Parliament to be sworn in as the Member of Parliament for Techiman South.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) 2020 Parliamentary Candidate for the Constituency, Christopher Beyere, had filed a suit asking the court to restrain the Electoral Commission (EC) from gazetting Martin Agyei Mensah Korsah as Member of Parliament for the constituency.

READ  Akoto Ampaw exposed inconsistencies in Mahama’s petition through Asiedu Nketia – Oppong Nkrumah

Justice Fredrick Arnold A. K. Nawurah stated in his ruling that he “shall refuse the ex parte injunction application.”

“I think the people of Techiman South need a representative at the swearing-in. To injunct the 1st respondent will be unfair. At the end of the trial, if it is established that the election was not done properly, I shall make my orders. I hereby refuse the application.”

The lead counsel for Martin Agyei Mensah Korsah, Eric Ansah Ankama, expressed his satisfaction with the ruling.

READ  Papavi Hogbedetor ‘Freed’ Barely 24hrs after Arrest

The seat has been in contention by the two leading political parties – New Patriotic Party (NPP) and NDC.

The NDC insists there was no collation of results and has rejected the EC’s announcement of the NPP candidate as the winner.

The Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu at a press conference on Tuesday, December 22, 2020, to present pink sheets from each polling station in the constituency as the basis for its insistence that it won the seat accused the government of “working to deny the NDC a parliamentary majority.”

READ  Ketu South residents to demonstrate over continuous closure of Aflao border

According to him, data available to them indicates that the NDC secured 50,306 votes against the NPP’s 50,013 with 919 rejected ballots.

He thus concluded that the NDC candidate won that election by 293 votes.

The Minority has further petitioned the EC over the results in Techiman South.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button