2020 Election petition: Supreme Court adjourns hearing, grants motion for amendment of error

The Supreme Court has given the green light for former President John Mahama to correct an ‘error’ in his election petition challenging the validity of President Akufo-Addo as the winner of the 2020 elections.

The motion for amendment filed by lawyers of the NDC’s flagbearer was seeking the permission of the apex court to correct a mistake in relief (f) of the election petition.

In the document filed on December 30, the first respondent (1st) was the Electoral Commission (EC), with the second respondent (2nd) being President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

READ  Akufo-Addo to Ghanaians: Let’s eschew divisiveness

However, relief (f) wants the court to order the EC to conduct a second election between Mahama and the first respondent, which as stated in the petition turns out to be the EC.

Relief (f) is seeking “an order of mandatory injunction directing the first respondent to proceed to conduct a second election with petitioner and first respondent as the candidates as required under Articles 63(4) and (5) of the 1992 Constitution,” the statement read.

But hearing the case for the first time, the Apex Court granted the leave and asked the petitioner to file the amendment before 4pm, Thursday, January 14, 2021.

READ  Government deepens accountability with roll out of performance tracker

Also, the Respondents have been granted leave by the Supreme Court to file any amended response they might also have before 4pm on Friday, January 15, 2021.

The petition hearing was then adjourned to Tuesday, January 19, 2021.

Meanwhile, present at the hearing included the 1st Respondent represented by Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, Jean Mensa; and the 2nd Respondent represented by Campaign Manager of the NPP, Peter Mac Manu; along with the petitioner John Dramani Mahama.

READ  Man arrested by National Security for allegedly leaking WASSCE papers

Legal representation for Mr Mahama included Tony Lithur led by Tsatsu Tsikata.

There was also Justin Amenuvor and Lawyer A. Asamoah for the 1st Respondent; and Akoto Ampaw with Frank  Davies, Kwaku Asirifi, and Yaw Oppong for the 2nd Respondent.

The seven-member panel of Judges hearing the petition include Chief Justice Anin; Justices Yaw Appau, Marful Sau, Professor Ashie Kotei, Mariama Owusu, Nene Amegatcher and Gertrude Tokonor.

Source: myjoyonline


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button