Akufo-Addo to regional ministers: Ensure total security in your jurisdictions

President Akufo-Addo has tasked all 16 regional ministers to live up to expectations to ensure a smooth second term

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has charged the 16 regional ministers to ensure that they maintain total security, peace and order in their respective jurisdictions.

“As chairpersons of the regional coordinating councils of your respective regions, you have the most regular and direct impact on the lives of the people. You set the tone for the administration and development in your regions. Another important role you play is that of chair of the regional security council. You do not need me to tell you that your most important function is to help ensure peace, law and order in your regions,” Akufo-Addo told the ministers at a swearing-in ceremony at the Jubilee House.

READ  ‘I’ve had my Election 2020 victory affirmed’ – Nana Addo on Supreme court ruling

He added: “All our plans and programmes will come to naught if there is no peace. You must be careful and tactful in managing issues of intelligence and security.”


Akufo-Addo reiterated his decision not to appoint deputy regional ministers, urging them to rise to the occasion.

Photo credit: Jubilee House

“Article 256 of the Constitution of the Republic, outlines your responsibilities succinctly. You represent the president in the region, and you are responsible for the coordination and direction of the government administrative machinery in the region. As you all already know, I have taken the decision not to appoint deputy regional ministers, this means you have to shoulder the work by yourselves as I know you can,” Akufo-Addo stated.

READ  Akufo-Addo accepts Cecilia Dapaah’s resignation

Total support

Dr Archibald Yao Letsa, minister responsible for the Volta Region, in response indicated they will do everything within their power to support the president.

“We want to assure His Excellency, the good people of Ghana and our regions that we shall take this assignment with seriousness, dedication, commitment and loyalty that it deserves. Mr President, on behalf of my colleagues, I promise that you can always count on us. We will be your worthy representatives in all the 16 regions of our beloved nation, Ghana,” he promised.

READ  Painter jailed 20 years for defiling, impregnating his girlfriend's daughter

The 16 ministers

The 16 regional ministers appointed include George Boakye, Ahafo Region, for the Ashanti Region, Simon Osei-Mensah, Bono Region, Justina Owusu-Banahene, Bono East Region , Adu Gyan, Central Region, Justina Marigold Assan, Eastern Region, Seth Kwame Acheampong, Greater Accra Region, Henry Quartey, MP and Northern Reguin, Shani Alhassan Saibu.

The rest are North East Region, Yidana Zakaria, Oti Region, Joseph Makubu, Savannah Region, Saeed Muhazu Jibril, Upper East Region, Stephen Yakubu, Dr. Hafiz Bin Salih, for the Upper West Region, Volta Region, Dr. Archibald Yao Letsa a, Western Region, Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah, MP and for the Western North Region, Richard Obeng.

Source: asaaseradio


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button