Akufo-Addo charges Council of State: Help in COVID-19 fight

The president says the Council has taken office at a very difficult time in the history of the nation because of the raging COVID-19

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has made a passionate appeal to the newly sworn in 31-member Council of State to bring their rich experiences to bear to help in Ghana’s fight against the spread of COVID-19.

Addressing members of the Council of State after administering the oaths of allegiance, office and secrecy and after presenting their Instruments of Appointment to them at a swearing in ceremony held at the Jubilee House, President Akufo-Addo said the Council has taken office at a very difficult time in the history of the nation and indeed, the world because of the raging COVID-19.

President Akufo-Addo to this end noted the Council of State ought to join the country’s fight right away to ensure that it attains its target of zero active cases.

“You have been sworn in at a difficult time in the history of our country and indeed of the world. We are confronted with the ravages of COVID-19 which has affected the livelihoods and lives of all Ghanaians,” Akufo-Addo said.

READ  Dominic Nitiwul challenges Ghanaians to report top government officials involved in illegal mining

“Through pro-active measures put in place by government, we have seen a rebound in economic activities. However, these gains are now being threatened by the rising number of active cases in the so called second wave that is sweeping the world. Winning the fight against the pandemic remains a collective duty and responsibility. So, I appeal to you to help in this endeavor,” he added.


On his expectation when it comes to working with the Council of State, President Akufo-Addo said he is hopeful that the 8th Council will be proactive in its work.

“I expect you to be proactive partners in our common efforts to find solutions that will improve the lives of our people and safe guard the integrity of our nation and its heritage. I look forward very much to working with a Council that will offer me honest advise based on unvarnished truth. I look forward to working with a Council that will help deepen our democracy and help enhance the quality of our governance and I look forward to working with a Council that will help us deliver a prosperous Ghana.”

READ  My government does not shy away from public scrutiny – Akufo-Addo

Response of the CoS

In response on behalf of all his colleague members of the Council of State, Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Omanhene of the Juaben traditional area, pledged that the 8th Council of State looks forward to working closely with the president and his office to ensure that they make pertinent contributions to his agenda aimed at the total transformation of the country.

“Be assured Mr. President of our commitment to give fair and sincere advise at all times that will promote the national interest,” Nana Siriboe II said.

1992 Constitution on CoS

Chapter nine (9) and Articles eight-nine (89) to ninety-two (92) of the 1992 constitution of the Republic, is dedicated to the formation, composition and work of the Council of State. Article 89 focuses on the composition, where as Article 90 is on Consideration of Bills by the Council of State. Article 91 on the other hand is on other functions of the Council and Article 92 is on the meetings of the Council of State.

READ  Pastor Torledzo Invited for Questioning Over Alleged Murder

Composition of the CoS

The eighth (8th) Council of State of the Republic has Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Omanhene of the Juaben traditional area, as it’s chairman. The other members of the Constitutional body are Mr. Sam Okudzeto, Justice Georgina Wood, Rtd Chief Justice of the Republic, Stanley Nii Adjiri Blankson, Tongraan Kugbilsong Nanlebegtang, Lt. Gen. J. B. Danquah (Rtd CDS), Ogyeahohoo Yaw Gyebi II, Amb. Nana Owusu-Nsiah (IGP Rtd).

The eighth Council also includes Professor Margaret Ivy Amoakohene, Paa Kofi Ansong, Alhaji Sulemana Yirimea, Mrs. Georgina Adepa Konadu Kusi, Kuoro Richard Babini Kanton VI, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, Mrs Alberta Cudjoe, Professor Ato Essuman, Archbishop Justice Ofei Akrofi, Nana Owusu Achiaw Brempong, Francis Albert Seth Nyonyo, Kodwo Agyenim-Boateng, Eunice Jacqueline Buah Asoman-Hinneh and E. T. Mensah.

The rest are Mahamoud Taniru Zunglana, Azumah Namoro Sanda, Yaw Basoa, Daniel Anlieu-Mwine Bagah, Adam Zakaria, Richard Kings Atikpo, Katakyei Kwasi Bumagama, Odeefuo Afankwa lll (Emmanuel Baidoo) and Oseadeeyo Akumfi Ameyaw IV.

Source: asaaseradio


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button