Finance Minister to announce “difficult decisions” to cushion nation, Akufo-Addo hints

President Akufo-Addo disclosed this in opening remarks before moving into a closed-door meeting with the Council of State at Jubilee House on 22 March.

President Akufo-Addo has hinted that on his instructions, the Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta, will on Thursday 24 March 2022, announce what he says are “difficult decisions” that his administration has taken to help cushion Ghanaians during these difficult economic times the country and the world finds itself.

Akufo-Addo disclosed this in his opening remarks before moving into a close door meeting with the Council of State at the Jubilee House today Tuesday 22 March 2022.

“It is no secret that our economy is going through difficult times. It is also no secret that we are not alone in that exercise and that many of the phenomenon we are facing are phenomenon that are apparent in many other parts of the world as well,” President Akufo-Addo said when he addressed the Council of State.

Inspite of this, President Akufo-Addo said government must not be seen to be “impotent in trying to find solutions” to the challenges.

READ  Suspect had human flesh stored in a fridge

The decision taken by him and his cabinet at their recent retreat at Peduase Lodge, is that the Minister for Finance, on the President’s instruction, is going to have a major engagement with the nation on Thursday, where he is going to be in the position to lay out specifically, the measures that government intends to take in an endeavour to put things right.

“They are difficult decisions, but then, the times call for difficult decisions,” President Akufo-Addo said.

Council of State allowances cut

Chairman of the Council of State, Nana Otuo Siriboe II, in his remarks indicated that the Council is well aware of the prevailing economic challenges and to that end, the constitutional body has decided to support government’s efforts by cutting down their monthly benefits by 20% from now till the end of the year 2022.

“You and your cabinet have decided to reduce some of your emoluments or allowances. Mr President, in tandem with your decision, we as the Council of State have also decided that we will reduce our monthly allowances by 20% until the end of this year ” the Chairman of the Council of State, Nana Otuo Siriboe II said.

READ  Finance Minister-designate Ken Ofori-Atta back home from US medical trip

“This will be contributing our widow’s mite to total efforts at economic recovery. We hope that this small gesture will be emulated by other organs of government or the state,” he added.

1992 Constitution on CoS

Chapter nine (9) and Articles eight-nine (89) to ninety-two (92) of the 1992 Constitution of the Republic, is dedicated to the formation, composition and work of the Council of State.

Article 89 focuses on the composition, where as Article 90 is on Consideration of Bills by the Council of State. Article 91 on the other hand is on other functions of the Council and Article 92 is on the meetings of the Council of State.

READ  GMet to Ghanaians: Expect more rainstorms in May

Composition of the CoS

The eighth (8th) Council of State of the Republic has Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Omanhene of the Juaben Traditional Area, as it’s Chairman. The other members of the constitutional body are Mr. Sam Okudzeto; Justice Georgina Wood, Rtd Chief Justice of the Republic; Stanley Nii Adjiri Blankson; Tongraan Kugbilsong Nanlebegtang; Lt. Gen. J. B. Danquah (Rtd CDS); Ogyeahohoo Yaw Gyebi II, Amb. Nana Owusu-Nsiah (IGP Rtd).

The council also includes Professor Margaret Ivy Amoakohene, Paa Kofi Ansong, Alhaji Sulemana Yirimea, Mrs. Georgina Adepa Konadu Kusi, Kuoro Richard Babini Kanton VI, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, Mrs Alberta Cudjoe, Professor Ato Essuman, Archbishop Justice Ofei Akrofi, Nana Owusu Achiaw Brempong, Francis Albert Seth Nyonyo, Kodwo Agyenim-Boateng, Eunice Jacqueline Buah Asoman-Hinneh and E. T. Mensah.

The rest are Mahamoud Taniru Zunglana, Azumah Namoro Sanda, Yaw Basoa, Daniel Anlieu-Mwine Bagah, Adam Zakaria, Richard Kings Atikpo, Katakyei Kwasi Bumagama, Odeefuo Afankwa lll (Emmanuel Baidoo) and Oseadeeyo Akumfi Ameyaw IV.

Source: Asaaseradio


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button