Parliament approves Oppong Nkrumah, Koomson, Akoto after midnight vote

The three ministerial nominees were approved through secret ballot after the NDC caucus on the Appointments Committee rejected them

Parliament sat deep into the night on Wednesday to decide the fate of President Akufo-Addo’s three ministerial nominees after the Appointments Committee failed to arrive at a consensus.

They are Information Minister-designate Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Minister-designate of Food and Agriculture, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Mavis Hawa Koomson for Fisheries and Aquaculture.

READ  Amewu donates Nissan Pick-up vehicle to St Augustine Catholic Church

By majority decision the House voted to approve the trio.

Oppong Nkrumah polled 155 YES votes as against 110 NO votes representing 58.65% of total votes cast.

Koomson had 161 YES votes as against 104 NO votes representing 60.75% of total votes cast while Akoto obtained 143 YES votes as against 121 NO votes representing 53.96% of total votes cast.

READ  “It’s Very Difficult To Tell Why Black Stars Failed’ – GFA President

A total of 265 MPs cast their votes in a secret ballot which ended around 2am on Thursday 4 March 2021.

Ten other ministerial nominees were approved by consensus.

They are:

Albert Kan-Dapaah – National Security

Dominic Nitiwul – Defense

Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey – Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration

READ  Staff, family demand justice for late Ambulance Service driver

Yaw Osei Adutwum – Education

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu – Parliamentary Affairs

Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh – Energy

Dan Botwe – Local government, decentralisation and rural development

Ambrose Dery – Interior

Ignatius Baffuor Awuah – Employment and Labour Relations

Sarah Adwoa Safo – Gender, Children and Social Protection

Source: asaaseradio

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button