NPP Sacks Alan Boys

The New Patriotic Party, NPP has announced the dismissal of some followers of defeated flagbearer aspirant, Alan Kyerematen for breaching party constitution.

The Party mentioned that Hopeson Adorye, a defeated parliamentary candidate, Nana Ohene Ntow, a former General Secretary, Boniface Abubakar Saddique, a former Zongo Minister and Yaw Buaben Asamoah, former Adentan MP who have declared their support for Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten, a former Presidential Aspirant of the NPP, who opted to form the political party after his defeat have since forfeited their membership of the party.

These individuals were once prominent members of the party who held positions but have now opted to join the ” Butterfly Movement,” a Political party formed by Alan Kyerematen who resigned from the NPP after the Super Delegates Conference of the party to elect its flag bearer for the 2024 General Elections.

READ  Speaker meets leadership of parliament to resolve issues

Due to that, the Party sees them as “Pharisees” and cannot work with them again any longer, since they have incurred the wrath of its constitution which says they cannot be a member of NPP and declared their support to a different Presidential candidate.

However, the Party in a statement issued and signed by the General Secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong, explained that “The leadership of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has taken notice of recent activities of Hopeson Adorye, Yaw Buaben Asamoa, Nana Ohene Ntow and Boniface Abubakar Saddique which includes publicly endorsing the candidature of a person other than the duly elected Presidential Candidate of the Party; His Excellency Dr. Alhaji Mahamudu Bawumia”.

READ  2024: Nana B, Seth Adu-Adjei, 2 others to battle for NPP National Organizer

He said “Despite their flagrant breach of the Party’s Constitution particularly Articles 3(5)(A)(4) and 3(9)(1), the afore-named men still hold themselves out as members of the NPP.

“For the avoidance of doubt, Article 3(5)(A)(4) of the NPP Constitution enjoins all members of the Party to” abide by and publicly uphold the decisions of the Party”.

The statement explained that Article 3(9)(1) of the Constitution provides as follows: “A Member of the Party, who stands as an independent candidate against the officially elected member of the Party, or who joins or declares his or her support for another Political Party, or for an independent candidate, when the Party has sponsored a candidate in a general or by-election, automatically forfeits his or her membership of the Party”.

READ  Sanction MPs involved in inauguration day scuffle – Christian Council

However, “In line with these constitutional provisions, it is the view of the NPP that Hopeson Adorye, Nana Ohene Ntow, Boniface Abubakar Saddique and Yaw Buaben Asamoa have AUTOMATICALLY FORFEITED their membership of the Party. They are, therefore, no longer members of the Party”.

The NPP further entreats its members to remain true to their duties as per Article 3(5) of the party Constitution.

“We further call upon our members to bear in mind that the Party’s focus is to unite its ranks and rally the support of Ghanaians to make history by winning the 2024 general elections” the statement underscored.

Credit; Dailyguide


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button