Akufo-Addo’s tenure as ECOWAS Chairman ends today

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s tenure as Chairman of ECOWAS ends today as the group of African leaders, among other things will elect a new Chairman in Accra.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

President Akufo-Addo brings his two consecutive terms to an end today after the leaders’ meeting in Accra.

Opening the ongoing summit, Nana Akufo-Addo said he did his best to serve the region during the period amidst difficult times.

READ  Land border closure: We’re praying to God to change our leaders’ minds – Assemblyman

He expressed his appreciation to leaders in the sub-region for their support and cooperation during his tenure, indicating that his leadership period was one of the most trying periods of the body.

He however pledged to continue supporting ECOWAS after exiting his position as its chair.

“I will at the end of this summit conclude my tenure as chairman of this authority. It has been a great privilege for Ghana and myself to have been given the opportunity by you to serve this noble organization for two consecutive terms, particularly at one of the most trying periods of its history. I have benefited tremendously from the solidarity of your excellencies in the discharge of this difficult mandate which you have conferred on me, for which I am very grateful. I will continue to play my full part to the best of my ability in the work of the authority,” he said.

READ  Akufo-Addo re-elected ECOWAS Chair

Established in 1975, ECOWAS is a regional group for promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the members.

The 15 members of ECOWAS are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

READ  Torgbi Fiti to appear before Volta regional House of Chiefs on Aflao chieftaincy issues

Source: PulseGhana


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button